Control Web Panel

WebPanel => Apache => Topic started by: Administrator on December 27, 2014, 01:06:07 PM

Title: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: Administrator on December 27, 2014, 01:06:07 PM
You can also setup website on the IP address but this is not recommended since here are important server applications like (webmail, FTP, phpMyAdmin...)

Instructions
- Upload files to folder: /usr/local/apache/htdocs/
- Change permissions on all files to user nobody using the following command
Code: [Select]
chown -R nobody.nobody /usr/local/apache/htdocs/
If you need to use a database, you can create it using CWP.admin --> MySQL Manager or phpMyAdmin.



Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: rekast on January 31, 2015, 08:44:49 AM
Any other insights as to what can be the cause of this?
I have already attempted the suggested recommendation.
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: Administrator on February 04, 2015, 01:37:30 AM
Any other insights as to what can be the cause of this?
I have already attempted the suggested recommendation.

what is the issue ?
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: rekast on February 18, 2015, 03:13:48 PM
Sorry plesae disregard. I already got my vhosts to map properly. It was an issue between the public and private IP address I have with AWS EC2 instance. Both mapping the vhost to a wildcard IP or assigning the hostname IP for the vhost to the ""Private" rather than the public IP mapped the domain properly to the redirected user folder.
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: howard83 on March 03, 2015, 06:53:49 AM
how can i just redirect my main IP to my existing vhost.

documentroot = /usr/local/apache/htdocs/

i have changed it to "/home/USERNAME/public_html"

but still it wont redirect to my vhost.

Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: Administrator on March 10, 2015, 01:00:10 PM
you would need to edit the apache configuration files but with suPHP & suExec this isn't the easy task so its recommended to check on that with your sysadmin.
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: howard83 on March 24, 2015, 05:33:52 AM
you would need to edit the apache configuration files but with suPHP & suExec this isn't the easy task so its recommended to check on that with your sysadmin.

Is there anyway other solution for this?
i dont have a sysadmin :) im doing it my self.
Thanks
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: Administrator on March 24, 2015, 04:18:47 PM
since you need custom settings you will need to test them by yourself or get someones support
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: pixelpadre on July 01, 2015, 12:49:49 PM
So last night my addon domain /www/myusername/public_html/myaddondomain.com was resolving fine.

Then I uploaded my main domain files directly into the public_html directory.  And of course, I updated my nameservers with registrar last night for my main domain to point to digitalocean.  And I added another dns record for my main domain at the digitocean control panel.  Now none of my domains are resolving on that droplet.

Any ideas what I did wrong?
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: Administrator on July 01, 2015, 08:51:20 PM
you can use leafdns.com for live dns testing or check it with your server admin.
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: pixelpadre on July 02, 2015, 02:03:18 PM
That produced some scary results.  A very useful website that I have never heard of.
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: styrcn on January 05, 2018, 09:51:44 PM
all i want is actually install the wordpress on my server before point my domain to the server i need to configure some setting. i mean im gonna use with my servers ip on browser then after finish my work i will launch my site. please help me
Title: Re: How to setup Website on the IP address
Post by: Igor S. on April 05, 2018, 06:20:40 AM
all i want is actually install the wordpress on my server before point my domain to the server i need to configure some setting. i mean im gonna use with my servers ip on browser then after finish my work i will launch my site. please help me

Hi. Try to google about "how to use hosts file". It will show you few options.