Control Web Panel

WebPanel => DNS => Topic started by: mmain on September 07, 2018, 02:23:26 PM

Title: DNS Slave
Post by: mmain on September 07, 2018, 02:23:26 PM
Hi

Having a small issue with DNS Server, I have CWP set as master and to slave out zones and records too 2 other bind box's.

i have installed web-min for all box's.

so the issue i am having, When i create a zone in CWP (ns0) the zone is created and so are all records. But the zone is not pushed to the 2 slave box's (ns1) and (ns2). If i manually add just the zone to the slave box's then all the records are pulled from the master with no issue.

I cant see any difference in the way CWP is writing the config compared to a normal bind _ webmin box.

Little bit stumped if i am honest,

I dont mind if CWP is master DNS going out to 2 slaves or CWP writes out to an external Master and slave, whats the best way to fix this issue

cheers for the help
Title: Re: DNS Slave
Post by: justcurious on December 19, 2018, 10:10:25 AM
I know this is a couple of months old, but in case it helps anyone else - what I did was write a script that

I set this up as a cron job that runs every half hour. Then any dns zones that are updated or added are automatically updated on the secondary server within 30 minutes of the change.
Title: Re: DNS Slave
Post by: nitram on June 12, 2019, 06:55:46 AM
The functionality is now available by default on CWP, all you need is s CWPpro license.
Title: Re: DNS Slave
Post by: vbpal on June 12, 2019, 05:20:54 PM
Nitram, where is that functionality exactly? Trying to find it in cwpro
Title: Re: DNS Slave
Post by: vbpal on June 20, 2019, 02:42:24 PM
I see the DNS slave option however I don't see documentation on it. What's the api/key pass that we put in? Is this for another CWP or CWPro setup? It's not clear.
Title: Re: DNS Slave
Post by: evansa on June 20, 2019, 07:49:30 PM
I see the DNS slave option however I don't see documentation on it. What's the api/key pass that we put in? Is this for another CWP or CWPro setup? It's not clear.

This is a service which you need to subscribe.
Please ask from support
Title: Re: DNS Slave
Post by: chengkinhung on July 21, 2019, 08:54:04 AM
I am current studying and testing CWP server,  and I am willing to recommend the CWP solution to our company, however I can not find any DNS master-slave solution in CWP document, and even google also not help much. I really don't know how to say if I suggest the CWP solutions without DNS master-slave, any one could tell me is the DNS master-slave really work in CWP-pro ? Thanks very much.