Control Web Panel

WebPanel => Information => Topic started by: Namaste on February 22, 2025, 12:43:40 PM

Title: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: Namaste on February 22, 2025, 12:43:40 PM
Any easy way to install maxmind geo ip for goaccess?

Google analytics 4 is a nightmare to use.  So its back to webstats for me.  I dont need all of the data that GA4 can potentially reveal to micromanagers.  GoAccess provides me with what I currently need to know about visitors to any give website.
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: cyberspace on February 22, 2025, 01:35:29 PM
Seems you just need to download the maxmind database file and specify the correct path to it.

Check the section "GeoIP Options" of the file:
/etc/goaccess/goaccess.conf
on your server/vps.
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: Namaste on February 23, 2025, 09:31:04 PM
Seems you just need to download the maxmind database file and specify the correct path to it.

Check the section "GeoIP Options" of the file:
/etc/goaccess/goaccess.conf
on your server/vps.

I already knew that.  I was asking if there was an easy way.
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: cyberspace on February 24, 2025, 12:08:58 AM
More easy way ? Install the geoip database using dnf/yum.
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: Namaste on March 11, 2025, 10:40:14 AM
Also, can goaccess be updated?  server version is 1.2 from 2017.  Latest is 1.9
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: Namaste on March 11, 2025, 11:01:15 AM
More easy way ? Install the geoip database using dnf/yum.

DNF implies non centos 7.  Lets have a poll on here to see how many are still using C7
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: Starburst on March 11, 2025, 12:53:13 PM
Seems you just need to download the maxmind database file and specify the correct path to it.

Check the section "GeoIP Options" of the file:
/etc/goaccess/goaccess.conf
on your server/vps.

I already knew that.  I was asking if there was an easy way.

No, it has to be done manually.
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: overseer on March 12, 2025, 01:21:35 AM
Also, can goaccess be updated?  server version is 1.2 from 2017.  Latest is 1.9
Nothing prevents you from updating if you so desire. Remove CWP's GoAccess and install prerequisite (MaxMind GeoIP library):
Code: [Select]
yum -y remove goaccess
yum install libmaxminddb-devel.x86_64
Download and compile GoAccess, install to replace the current 1.2 version:
Code: [Select]
cd /usr/local/src
wget https://tar.goaccess.io/goaccess-1.9.3.tar.gz
tar -xzvf goaccess-1.9.3.tar.gz
cd goaccess-1.9.3/
./configure --prefix= --enable-debug --enable-utf8 --enable-geoip=mmdb --with-getline --with-openssl
make
make install
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: overseer on March 12, 2025, 01:32:17 AM
Or if instead of MaxMind, you prefer the legacy GeoIP as CWP used in the current 1.2 version, install this pre-requisite:
Code: [Select]
yum -y install geoip-develAnd then the configure line would change to:
[/code]./configure --prefix= --enable-debug --enable-utf8 --enable-geoip=legacy --with-getline --with-openssl[/code]
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: Namaste on March 12, 2025, 07:31:08 PM
Cool.  And as always should you chose to accept this mission be sure to backup your server first.
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: Starburst on March 12, 2025, 09:58:07 PM
Just a quick FYI, AL9 installs goaccess 1.9.3-2 via EPEL.
Title: Re: goaccess geo ip location
Post by: overseer on March 13, 2025, 12:52:35 AM
It's not a dramatic change, so no image/backup is really necessary. If you want to re-install CWP's version, it's just
Code: [Select]
yum -y install goaccessAnd to cleanup from the manually installed GoAccess 1.9.3:
Code: [Select]
yum -y remove geoip-devel
yum -y remove libmaxminddb-devel.x86_64
rm /bin/goaccess
rm /share/man/man1/goaccess.1