Author Topic: ERROR: You don't have a valid hostname set!  (Read 68465 times)

ERROR: You don't have a valid hostname set!
« on: January 23, 2017, 03:23:39 PM »
Hey guys, I'm new to CWP and I need some help.

I want to switch to a new server and start using CWP, so I am currently setting up the new server.  I've run into a couple of issues, but I've been able to do some searching and solve them.  This issue has not answer that I can find though.

Basically, when I go to Postfix Mail Server Manager, I get the message "ERROR: You don't have a valid hostname set!" in red.

The thing is, I'm pretty sure I have my hostname set.  Can anyone please help me?

Re: ERROR: You don't have a valid hostname set!
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2017, 04:32:02 PM »
you need to add a subdomain with valid A record set

« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2017, 05:26:03 PM »
You are awesome!  That totally did it.  Thank you!!!

« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2017, 10:25:18 PM »
where do you add the sub domain?

« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2017, 11:00:11 PM »
You are awesome!  That totally did it.  Thank you!!!

My host is something like srv1.domain.com
I added srv1 to A record in dns settings.
And then it worked. Thanks.

« Reply #5 on: May 19, 2017, 01:16:27 PM »

I am having the same issue and I apologize for being a noob to CWP, but I do not fully understand the fix for this issue.

what would be subdomain be called? If I have a domain already setup and working then why would a subdomain be needed for email?
 What would the A record point to?

I assume a seasoned programmer would intuitively know these things but I do not.

thanks,

« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2017, 01:24:09 PM »
You can think of your hostname as the name you call your server. The format of a hostname looks like a sub domain derived from your main domain eg, srv1.yourdomain.com (you can replace srv1 with anything). It is however technically different to a sub domain as its a host name (clear as mud yet lol).