Control Web Panel

WebPanel => Installation => Topic started by: rita1989 on February 28, 2020, 06:58:08 PM

Title: Installed... now, i want to bind panel to a domain
Post by: rita1989 on February 28, 2020, 06:58:08 PM
Hello, i'm quite a newbie.

I installed cwp easily. but now i have 3 main questions.

1) i read somewhere that it's best to setup a swap partition before. This is not mentioned in the official guide for installation... why? do you suggest it? usually on most servers i do add that...

2) i'd like to point my panel to a domain name. Is it suggested? or best to leave it joinable only by ip? if so... how can i do that? should i set an A record inside the panel? or inside my domain setting page?

3) are there some best practice for managing the panel?

Thanks
Title: Re: Installed... now, i want to bind panel to a domain
Post by: Sandeep on March 01, 2020, 04:45:59 AM
if you have 6 gb and above you didn't need to have swap

for other 2 questions check our wiki and docs
https://docs.control-webpanel.com/
http://wiki.centos-webpanel.com/
Title: Re: Installed... now, i want to bind panel to a domain
Post by: rita1989 on March 04, 2020, 10:41:35 PM
considering my server is 2gb ram 20gb hd and 2core processor... i need to swap i guess.
which process do you think is best?

Process A
Code: [Select]
swapon -swapon
free -m
df -h
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile count=4096 bs=1MiB
ls -lh /swapfile
sudo chmod 600 /swapfile
ls -lh /swapfile
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile
swapon -s
free -m

sudo nano /etc/fstab
/swapfile swap swap sw 0 0

sudo nano /etc/sysctl.conf

vm.swappiness = 10
vm.vfs_cache_pressure=50

Process B
Code: [Select]
sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swapfile count=4096 bs=1M
sudo chmod 600 /swapfile
sudo mkswap /swapfile
sudo swapon /swapfile
echo '/swapfile   none    swap    sw    0   0' | sudo tee -a /etc/fstab
free -m

echo 'vm.swappiness=10' | sudo tee -a /etc/sysctl.conf
sudo sysctl -p
cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness

thanks
Title: Re: Installed... now, i want to bind panel to a domain
Post by: Sandeep on March 05, 2020, 08:29:55 AM
more easy way
https://www.alphagnu.com/topic/35-how-to-add-swap-memory-in-linux-os-centos-ubuntu-debian-cwp-hestiacp/