Author Topic: Failed to restart dovecot.service: Unit not found.  (Read 6370 times)

Failed to restart dovecot.service: Unit not found.
« on: October 05, 2021, 05:05:58 PM »
Greetings,

I have used another panel in the past, but since the latest update went wrong I switched  to cwp and I have to say I like it a lot so far.

However, here is an issue:

After setting up a new server I noticed that Roundcube didn't work (connection to storage issue) so I tried to rebuild the mailserver and got the following error:

It's a fresh install on CentOS7 minimal - did anyone run into the same issue or has a suggestion on how to fix this problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am not a PRO, but normally find my way around :)

To me it seems like dovecot was not installed for some reason. Is there a way for a new user to cwp to get this fixed?

Thanks so much!

Re: Failed to restart dovecot.service: Unit not found.
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2021, 07:03:37 PM »
if you haven't tried it yet :

1. configure own nameservers (if any)
2. you set the hostname correctly (the ssl certificate is also generated automatically)
3. then from cwp panel -> Email-> MailServer Manager -> (here you choose what services you want to install - ClamAV, Amavis & Spamassassin and Installs DKIM & SPF, enables DKIM for New Accounts and Domains and Installs Policyd, enables hourly email limit per domain.)
4. click the (Rebuild Mail Server) button

« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2021, 07:33:35 PM »
Greetings,

Thanks for your reply. I have tried this and still get the:

To me it seems like dovecot was not installed during the setup for some reason. I also tried to install it via yum (dovecot-mysql) but this resulted in another error so I uninstalled it again.

Maybe there is a simply trick to get dovecot integrated into CWP without messing anything else up?

Thanks again for your reply. It's greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2021, 07:37:38 PM by KMger »